Global Commission on Internet Governance (2014–2016)

A two-year initiative to articulate and advance a strategic vision for the future of internet governance.

About the Global Commission on Internet Governance

The Global Commission on Internet Governance (GCIG) was established in January 2014, to articulate and advance a strategic vision for the future of internet governance. 

Chaired by Carl Bildt, the commission informed concrete policy recommendations for the future of internet governance, by providing a framework both for coordination among advanced industrial democracies and for addressing the interests and values of states that are uncertain about the future of multi-stakeholder governance. 

Launched by two independent global think tanks, CIGI and Chatham House, the GCIG helped to educate the wider public on the most effective ways to promote internet access, while simultaneously championing the principles of freedom of expression and the free flow of ideas over the internet.

The final report by the GCIG puts forward key steps needed to achieve an open, secure, trustworthy and inclusive internet.

Commission Members:

Carl Bildt, Chair of the GCIG
Gordon Smith, Deputy Chair of the GCIG
Fen Osler Hampson, Co-Director of the GCIG
Patricia Lewis, Co-Director of the GCIG
Laura DeNardis, Director of Research of the GCIG

Sultan Sooud Al Qassemi, Dominic Barton, Pablo Bello, Pascal Cagni, Moez Chakchouk, Dae Whan Chang, Michael Chertoff, Dian Triansyah Djani, Anriette Esterhuysen, Hartmut Glaser, Dorothy Gordon, Angel Gurría, Dame Wendy Hall, Melissa Hathaway, Mathias Müller von Blumencron, Beth Simone Noveck, Joseph S. Nye Jr., Sir David Omand, Nii Quaynor, Latha Reddy, Marietje Schaake, Tobby Simon, Michael Spence, Paul Twomey, Pindar Wong

CIGI, Chatham House and the Commissioners of the GCIG would like to recognize and thank the following sponsors for their generous support, which facilitated the work of the GCIG on one of the most pressing global public policy issues of our time, internet governance: the Canadian Copyright Corporation; the Government of Canada; the Government of Jordan; the Government of the Netherlands; the Government of Sweden; the Government of the United Kingdom, Foreign and Commonwealth Office; His Excellency Sheikh Sultan Al Qassemi; the International Development Research Centre; the Kakao Corporation; the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation; Maekyung Media Group; McKinsey & Company; the Ministry of Research and Innovation of the Province of Ontario; Oasis500; the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; Synergia Foundation; the Annenberg Retreat at Sunnylands; and the Royal Patronage of HH the Crown Prince of Jordan.