AFRICAN INITIATIVE CONGRESS ON CLIMATE CHANGE

1 - 4 NOVEMBER 2009 • MUNYONYO SPEKE RESORT AND CONFERENCE CENTRE • KAMPALA, UGANDA

CONFIRMED SPEAKERS LIST

Hon. Jessica Ariyo, Minister of State for Environment, Government of Uganda

Dr. Tamer Afifi, Associate Academic Officer, Environmental Migration, Social Vulnerability and Adaptation Section, United Nations University - Institute for Environment and Human Security (UNU-EHS)

Dr. Friday Agaba, Principal Medical Officer, Ministry of Health, Government of Uganda

Ms. Salome Alweny, UNDP-UNEP Poverty Environment Initiative (PEI); National Environment Management Authority (NEMA)

Ms. Nakimbugwe Annet Kateregga, Ministry of Water and Environment, Government of Uganda

Dr. Festus Bagoora, Natural Resource Management Specialist, National Environment Management Authority (NEMA)

Dr. James Bataze, Meteorological Officer, Department of Meteorology, Government of Uganda

Mr. Paul M. Buyerah, Director Corporate Affairs, National Forestry Authority

Dr. Alvin Curling, Senior Fellow, The Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI)

Hon. David Ebong, Chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Climate Change, Government of Uganda

Mr. Justic Ecaat, Environmental Specialist, United Nations Development Program (UNDP)

Mr. Robert J. Ekongot, LC Chair, Katakwi District, Uganda

Mr. Zziwa Emmanuel, Department of Animal Science, Faculty of Agriculture Makerere University

Dr. John English, Executive Director, The Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI)

Mr. Bill Farmer, Chairman, Uganda Carbon Bureau

Mr. John Gongo Owori, District Environment Officer, Tororo District

Mr. Mounkaila Goumandakoye, Director, Regional Office for Africa, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

Dr. Nathalie Hahn, Board Member, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Prof. Andy Haines, Director, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, University of London

Ms. Rose Hogan, Senior Consultant, Natural Resources and Environment, The IDL Group Ltd

Mr. Wandira M. James, LC5 Chair, Nakasongola District, Uganda

Prof. John David Kabasa, Professor and Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Makerere University

Prof. John Kaddu, Professor, Department of Zoology, Makerere University

Dr. Robert Kambumbuli, Faculty of Social Sciences, Makerere University

Dr. Frank Kansiime, Director, Institute of Environment, Makerere University

Hajji A.M. Katende, Faculty of Arts, Makerere University

Dr. Isaac Kayongo, Makerere University Business School

Mr. Ignatius Koomu, LC5 Chair, Nakaseke District, Uganda

Mr. J.B Kunobere, District Environment Officer, Nakasongola District, Uganda

Dr. Denis T Kyetere, Director General, National Agricultural Research Organization

Dr. Julius Lejju, Mbarara University of Sciences and Technology

Dr. Franklyn Lisk, Visiting Professorial Research Fellow, Centre for the Study of Globalisation and Regionalisation (CSGR)

Mr. Amos Lugoloobi, Deputy Executive Director, National Planning Authority

Mr. Moses Maganda, District Environment Officer, Jinja District, Uganda

Mr. Stephen Magezi, Commissioner for Meteorology / Permanent Representative of Uganda with WMO

Mr. James Magezi-Akiiki, Climate Change Specialist, Department of Meteorology, Government of Uganda

Mr. Chebet Maikut, Programme Officer (Mitigation), Climate Change Unit, Ministry of Water and Environment, Government of Uganda

Dr. John Mango, Senior Lecturer and Head of Department, Department of Mathematics, Makerere University

Mr. Norbert Mao, LC5 Chair, Gulu District, Uganda

Mr. Shaban Mawanda, Uganda Red Cross Society

Mr. Andrew Mbiro, Chair, Water and Sanitation Working Group, African Development Bank (AfDB)

Mr. Richard Meyers, Director, British Council

Mr. Kenneth Mugabo, Country Representative in Uganda, Salama SHIELD Foundation (SSF)

Dr. Henry Aryamanya Mugisha, Executive Director, National Environment Management Authority (NEMA)

Mr. Alex B. Muhwezi, Country Coordinator in Uganda, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Dr. Andrew Musiime, Makerere University Business School

Hon. Maria Mutagamba, Minister of Water and Environment, Government of Uganda

Dr. Majaliwa Mwanjalolo, Institute of Environment, Makerere University

Ms. Emma Naylor, Country Director, Uganda Office, Oxfam GB

Mr. Kizito Siraje Nkugwa, LC5 Chair, Kiboga District, Uganda

Ms. Joselyn Nyangoma, District Environment Officer, Hoima District, Uganda

Mr. Samuel Okello, District Environment Officer, Gulu District, Uganda

Prof. Joseph Okello Onen, Professor of Medical and Veterinary Entomology and Dean of Faculty of Science, Gulu University

Dr. Anthony Okon Nyong, Principal Climate Change Expert, African Development Bank (AfDB)

Dr. Mackay Okure, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Makerere University

Mr. Lawrence Onegiu, Institute of Environment and Natural Resources (MUIENR), Makerere University

Dr. Christopher Garamoi Orach, Makerere University School of Public Health

Prof. Tom Otiti, Department of Physics, Makerere University

Dr. Gilbert Ouma, Meteorologist, University of Nairobi; IGAD Climate Prediction and Application Centre (ICPAC)

Mr. Ben Pickering, Programme Coordinator, Climate Change, Uganda Office, Oxfam GB

Mr. Paul Sabiiti, District Environment Officer, Kabale District, Uganda

Prof. Elly Sabiiti, Faculty of Agriculture, Makerere University

Dr. Irene Sage, Senior Fellow and Associate Director, African Initiative, The Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI)

Dr. Diery Seck, Director, Center for Research on Political Economy (CREPOL)

Dr. Asuman Sengooba, Faculty of Veterinary, Medicine Makerere University

Dr. Nelson K. Sewankambo, Director, African Initiative, The Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI); Principal, College of Health Sciences, Makerere University

Dr. Calebe Tamwesigire, Makerere University Business School

Dr. Richard Taylor, Department of Geography, University College of London

Dr. Callist Tindimugaya, Directorate of Water Development, Ministry of Water and Environment, Government of Uganda

Prof. James Tumwine, Editor-in-Chief, African Health Sciences Journal

Mr. George Turkington, Head of Uganda Office, UK Department for International Development (DfID)

Mr. Robert Wandwasi, LC5 Chair, Mbale District, Uganda

Mr. Karazaarwe John Wycliffe, LC5 Chair Ntungamo District, Uganda