10th Anniversary of the Land Mines Treaty

Saturday, December 1, 2007 - 12:00 AM
CIGI: The Atrium, 57 Erb Street West, Waterloo, Canada
Dec 1

On December 1st and 2nd, a Symposium on the 10th Anniversary of the signing of the Ottawa Treaty banning landmines will be held in Waterloo, ON. This is a joint initiative of the Canadian Landmine Foundation (CLMF), the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), and the Canadian Institute of International Affairs (CIIA). To be held at CIGI, 57 Erb Street, the Symposium will include sessions on: ‘The Landmine Treaty Process: Was it Unique’, ‘The Military and the Landmine Process’; ‘The Ottawa Process and Human Security’; ‘What Did the Treaty Accomplish: Where are we today’, ‘If We've Won the Battle, Can we win the War?’, and ‘The Way Forward’. Speakers include former Foreign Affairs Minister Lloyd Axworthy, CIGI Executive Director John English, former Ambassador to the UN Paul Heinbecker, U.S. LGen. Robert Gard, and Ilene Cohn, the Director of Policy for the United Nations Mine Action Service

Landmine Treaty 10th Anniversary Conference: Final Schedule

Saturday December 1, 2007

9:30 – 11:00

Was it Unique: The Landmine Treaty Process

Chair: Andrew Hunt
Speakers: Paul Heinbecker, Nola-Kate Seymoar, John English

11:00 – 11:15

Coffee Break

11:15 – 12:30

The Military and the Landmine Process

Chair: Scott Fairweather
Speaker: LGen. (ret.) Robert Gard, US Army

Commentators: Col(ret,) James D. Megill, Canadian Forces
Major (ret,) Oliver Mitrevski, Yugoslav National Army

12:30 – 2:15
The Ottawa Process and Human Security

Chair: Irene Sage
Speaker: Lloyd Axworthy
Appreciation: Chris Snyder

2:30 – 4:30

What Did the Treaty Accomplish: Where Are We Today?

Chair: Sheila Finestone
Speakers: Dan Livermore, Jacqueline Hanson, David Horton.

5:30 – 6:00

Report from the 10th Anniversary Youth Forum

6:00 – 7:00


7:00 – 7:00


Chair: Jim Balsillie
Speaker: Miss Vanna Minn (10 minutes)
Speaker: Mr. Keith Martin, MP

Appreciation: Herb Epp

Sunday, December 2, 2007

9:30 – 11:00

If We’ve Won the Battle, Can We Win the War?

Chair: Tom Molloy
Speakers: Ken Epps, Zach Hudson, Don Hubert

11:00 – 11:15

Coffee Break

11:15 – 12:30

Report from the Field

Chair: Ms Seemoir Ho
Speaker: Prak Sokhon (Cambodia), Oliver Mitrevski (Bosnia).

12:30 – 2:00 Lunch The Way Forward

Introduction: Dr. J. Frid
Speaker: Ilene Cohn, Director of Policy, UNMAS
Appreciation: Joan Euler