Passing the Arctic Council Torch: A Review of the Canadian Chairmanship and Preview of the Upcoming American Chairmanship

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 8:30 AM
Center for Strategic and International Studies, 1616 Rhode Island Ave, N.W., Washington, United States
Sep 30

A public one-day multi-stakeholder conference in Washington D.C. to take stock of the accomplishments achieved during Canada’s Arctic Council Chairmanship as it concludes its chairmanship and prepares for the April 2015 Arctic Council Ministerial meeting.  This high-level conference will be an opportunity for senior Canadian officials and experts to offer a detailed review of the Arctic Council’s current activities and outline future tasks. The conference will also be an important opportunity in advance of the U.S. taking on the Arctic Council chairmanship to have senior U.S. government officials and experts articulate the outline of the U.S. chairmanship agenda.

This conference is hosted by the Center for Strategic and International Studies and CIGI.

Watch the live webcast at:



8:30am: Registration and Light Breakfast

9:00am: Opening Remarks:


Ms. Heather A. Conley
Senior Vice President for Europe, Eurasia and the Arctic, CSIS
Mr. John Higginbotham
Senior Fellow, CIGI and Carleton University

9:05am: Keynote Address
: Accomplishments of the Canadian Arctic Council Chairmanship


Mr. Vincent Rigby
Chair of the Arctic Council Senior Arctic Officials (confirmed)

9:30am: Panel One:
 The Canadian Chairmanship: The Story So Far


Premier Peter Taptuna
Government of the Nunavut Territory (confirmed)
Ms. Susan Harper
Senior Arctic Official, Canada (confirmed)
Ms. Okalik Eegeesiak
Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council (confirmed)
Dr. Alexander Shestakov
Director, Global Arctic Program, WWF (confirmed)

Moderated by:

Ms. Heather A. Conley

Senior Vice President for Europe, Eurasia and the Arctic, CSIS

10:45am: Keynote Address
The U.S. Arctic Council Chairmanship


Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr.
U.S. Special Representative to the Arctic (confirmed)

11:15am: Panel Two:
 American Plans for the Arctic Council


Ambassador David Balton
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Oceans, Environment and Science (confirmed)
Representative Robert Herron
House of Representatives, State of Alaska (confirmed)
Senator Lesil McGuire
Senate, State of Alaska (confirmed)
Mr. David J. Hayes

Distinguished Visiting Lecturer in Law, Stanford Law School (confirmed)
Ms. Marilyn Heiman
Director (U.S. Arctic), The Pew Charitable Trusts (confirmed)
Moderated by:

Mr. John Higginbotham
Senior Fellow, CIGI and Carleton University

12:30pm: Lunch

12:30pm: Keynote Address:
 An Arctic Council Report Card: The View from the Canadian North


Premier Bob McLeod (confirmed)
Government of the Northwest Territories, Canada

1:30pm: Panel Three
: The Future of Arctic Council Governance


Mr. David Ramsay

NWT Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment; Presdient, PNWER (confirmed)
The Honorable Currie Dixon
Minister of Environment, Economic Development, and Public Service Commission, Yukon Legislative Assembly (confirmed)
Dr. Michael Byers
Professor, University of British Columbia (confirmed)
Dr. Lawson Brigham
Distinguished Professor of Geology and Arctic Policy, University of Alaska Fairbanks (confirmed)
Dr. Terry Fenge
Senior Policy Advisor, Arctic Athabaskan Council (confirmed)

Moderated by:

Ms. Heather A. Conley
Senior Vice President for Europe, Eurasia and the Arctic, CSIS

Please RSVP with Caroline Rholoff at [email protected]

The discussion will be ON the record.

Event Speakers

John Higginbotham is a senior fellow at CIGI and the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University in Ottawa. John’s research focuses on Arctic economic and governance development and international relations, Canada’s ties with the United States and China in global context and North American Arctic marine transportation as the Arctic Ocean melts.