WTO Eleventh Ministerial Conference

Sunday, December 10, 2017 - 5:00 PM to Wednesday, December 13, 2017 - 4:00 PM
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Private Event: Conference
Dec 10
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Participation in this event is by invitation only

The WTO Eleventh Ministerial Conference (MC11) will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and will be attended by trade ministers as well as other senior officials from the World Trade Organization’s 164 members. The Ministerial Conference is the highest decision-making body of the WTO and under the Marrakesh Agreement it is required to meet at least once every two years. 

At MC11, members of CIGI's Economic Law Research Program and Executive team will contribute sought after research and analysis through various panel discussions and official side events.

Event Speakers

Hector Torres is a senior fellow at CIGI and a former executive director at the International Monetary Fund.

Hugo Perezcano Díaz was the deputy director of International Economic Law at CIGI.

James Bacchus is a CIGI senior fellow, as well as the Distinguished University Professor of Global Affairs and director of the Center for Global Economic and Environmental Opportunity at the University of Central Florida.

Maria Panezi is a research fellow with CIGI’s International Law Research Program. She holds a Ph.D. in law from Osgoode Hall Law School at York University, where she wrote her dissertation on transparency in the World Trade Organization.

Markus Gehring is a CIGI senior fellow focusing on international economic law, trade and climate change, as well as trade, investment and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). He is also the Arthur Watts Senior Research Fellow in Public International Law with the British Institute of International and Comparative Law and a fellow of the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law at the University of Cambridge.

Oonagh E. Fitzgerald was director of international law at CIGI from April 2014 to February 2020. In this role, she established and oversaw CIGI’s international law research agenda, which included policy-relevant research on issues of international economic law, environmental law, IP law and innovation, and Indigenous law.

Robert McDougall is a CIGI senior fellow. His focus is on international trade cooperation, multilateral governance, China and the World Trade Organization, digital trade and dispute settlement. 

Rohinton P. Medhora is president of the Centre for International Governance Innovation.

Valerie Hughes is a senior fellow at CIGI, senior counsel with Bennett Jones LLP and adjunct assistant professor in the Faculty of Law at Queen’s University. She spent 22 years with the Government of Canada in various positions, including assistant deputy minister, Law Branch, at Finance Canada; director and general counsel of the Trade Law Bureau in the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (now Global Affairs Canada); and senior counsel in the International Law Section at Justice Canada.