Participation in this event is by invitation only

Blockchain ClimateCup Roundtable brought together experts in international climate change law and policy, blockchain and distributed ledger technologies (DLT) to explore practical, DLT-powered solutions for tackling climate change under the Paris Agreement. 

 The Roundtable proceeded in three main parts:

  • opened with a series of cutting-edge “proof-of-concept” demonstrations performed by leading blockchain technologists, green finance innovators, and green infrastructure entrepreneurs;
  • a deep-dive into the Paris Agreement’s obligations on specific climate change management issues;
  • and breakout groups in which participants brainstormed concrete next steps for how to seize the specific opportunities and confront the key challenges presented by blockchain and DLT-powered climate change monitoring, management, and finance systems.

Event Speakers

Photo of Julie Maupin

Julie Maupin

Senior Fellow

Julie Maupin is a CIGI senior fellow. She is also director of social impact and public regulatory affairs at the IOTA Foundation.

Photo of Oonagh Fitzgerald

Oonagh Fitzgerald

Director, International Law

As director of international law at CIGI, Oonagh Fitzgerald established and oversees CIGI’s international law research agenda, which includes policy-relevant research on issues of international economic law, environmental law, intellectual property law and innovation, and Indigenous law.

Photo of Timiebi Aganaba-Jeanty

Timiebi Aganaba-Jeanty

assistant professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, Arizona State University

Timiebi Aganaba-Jeanty is a CIGI fellow and assistant professor in the School for the Future of Innovation in Society at Arizona State University.

to cigi