Climate Law and Governance Day 2017: Advancing Law & Governance Contributions to Climate Action under the Paris Agreement

Friday, November 10, 2017 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
University Forum, Heussallee 18-24, 53113, Bonn , Germany
Public Event: Workshop
Nov 10

The third annual Climate Law and Governance Day (CLGD) will take place in parallel to United Nation's Climate Change Conference (COP23) on November 10, 2017 in Bonn to facilitate the dialogues between diverse sets of stakeholders, government representatives and the academic legal community. It will build on the success of the inaugural CLGD 2015, which took place alongside COP21 with an audience of 60 key jurists, policy and law makers, academics, and civil society representatives, and CLGD 2016, which drew an audience of over 260 government delegates, law and policy practitioners, academics, and students, and reached a network of over 50,000 in its follow up and associated social media activities.

Plenary sessions and keynote speakers will focus on:

  • sharing innovative international, national, and local climate law and governance mechanisms, challenges and best practices;
  • testing how legal tools and institutional reforms can assist in implementing and increasing ambition in NDCs to inform the 2018 facilitative dialogue;
  • exchanging knowledge between delegates, legal practitioners and the legal academic community to co-generate new law and governance knowledge and approaches; and
  • facilitating a law and governance community of practice to support capacity development to implement the Paris Agreement, the Paris Rulebook and COP22 outcomes, and SDG 13.

Event Speakers

Oonagh E. Fitzgerald was director of international law at CIGI from April 2014 to February 2020. In this role, she established and oversaw CIGI’s international law research agenda, which included policy-relevant research on issues of international economic law, environmental law, IP law and innovation, and Indigenous law.

Timiebi Aganaba-Jeanty is an assistant professor at the School for the Future of Innovation in Society, with a courtesy appointment at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University.